Remove these ads,
become a Club Member

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Quick question on sr20 swap

          
   
  1. #1
    Club Guest Danimal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Victoria
    Age
    29
    Posts
    452

    Quick question on sr20 swap

    If i bought a 240 that was auto would there be any extra modification i would have to do to make the manual sr20 fit and run? Is there anything that has to be done to the rear end or such?

  2. #2
    Club Guest
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Vancouver Island
    Age
    34
    Posts
    1,315
    Vehicle
    00 Acura 3.5 RL
    the tranny is in the front yo. nothing needed for the rear.

    talk to krazy91 he and I are doing the swap right now.
    (5spd SR into Auto s13)

    its nothing to serious. you have to drill a few holes in the firewall and mount all the 5 speed components (slave cylinder, pedals, lines, shifter/boot etc
    if you don't get a clip you can get the parts from a junkyard.
    best bet would be to get a clip so you get everything to install the manual tranny.

  3. #3
    Club Guest Danimal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Victoria
    Age
    29
    Posts
    452
    Originally posted by Touring240
    the tranny is in the front yo. nothing needed for the rear.

    talk to krazy91 he and I are doing the swap right now.
    (5spd SR into Auto s13)

    its nothing to serious. you have to drill a few holes in the firewall and mount all the 5 speed components (slave cylinder, pedals, lines, shifter/boot etc
    if you don't get a clip you can get the parts from a junkyard.
    best bet would be to get a clip so you get everything to install the manual tranny.
    just checkin becuz for some reason my dad said that something might have to be done to the rear end which didnt seem right so i thought id double check.

  4. #4
    Banned krazy91's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Vancouver/Duncan
    Age
    28
    Posts
    994
    You will need a clip there is quite a few little things you'll need from the 5 speed clip to put into your car. The firewall drilling holes are easy, you put 2 small bolt sized ones and another about 1 inch in diameter for the clutch. The only real hardpart is the wiring it seems to be a bit different. But Im working on figuring it out as we speak. You can use all the JDM pedals too like the clutch and gas except the brake one because it is curved the opposite way and runs into the steering column. Theres a few more things Im pretty sure I just cant remember at the moment.

    I have msn messenger AlexPaquette240@hotmail.com Im on there if you need fast answers.


    Oh ya nothing done to rear end might need a standard 240sx driveshaft though Im pretty sure you do.. we'll see when I put the engine in this weekend.
    Last edited by krazy91; 05-15-2003 at 07:12 PM.

  5. #5
    Yeah I think you need a manual drive shaft. About half the engines people buy have come with SR driveshafts.

  6. #6
    Primo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    WA
    Posts
    2,752
    Vehicle
    S14
    Blog Entries
    8
    A manual driveshaft is needed. If the automatic differential had different gears or something like that you would need to swap it, but the auto differential will work fine.

    PS the wiring for the main engine harness is the same as the manual, just the transmission wiring has to have some stuff done to it. A lot of stuff is posted on the net about this.

Similar Threads

  1. quick tranny swap question
    By WingsofWar in forum Technical Chat
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-02-2004, 02:25 PM
  2. sr20 swap
    By xfob in forum General Chat
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-24-2004, 11:46 PM
  3. Question on the Z32 (NA) Brake Swap (Pins and Years)
    By twisted_240 in forum Technical Chat
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-20-2003, 10:14 PM
  4. SR20 Head swap
    By SpeedRacer1 in forum Technical Chat
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 05-17-2003, 12:22 AM
  5. Engine Swap Question: New one
    By andystar in forum Technical Chat
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-07-2003, 12:49 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
ukash